Weekend Update!!

Image

First, I have to explain my early in the day post about “oil pulling”. While going through stress over my oral problem last week I came across websites and blogs about the benefits of this ancient ritual called oil pulling. According to it’s Wiki page, “Oil pulling or oil swishing is a traditional Indian folk remedy that involves swishing oil in the mouth. It is mentioned in the Ayurvedic text Charaka Samhita, where it is called Kavala Gandoosha or Kavala Graha. Ayurvedic literature describes oil pulling as capable of both improving oral health and treating systemic diseases such as diabetes mellitus or asthma.While scientific evidence is lacking to support any systemic benefits of oil pulling, some studies have suggested that it may reduce oral plaque, halitosis, and gingivitis.” http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Oil_pulling.

Ross and I started this today, basically the ritual involves swishing a cold pressed oil (we used EVOO however plan on trying coconut oil) around in your mouth for 20 min, spitting it in the toilet or trash, washing out the mouth & brushing teeth. It is best to do on an empty stomach, first thing in the morning. Sounds BIZARRE right? I’ll definitely keep you all updated on our results and recommend that you search the web for more info if it is at all interesting to you. Maybe it will hold me over until I get dental insurance!

 

Life update: Didn’t go out with friends this weekend (good job), DID order grub hub ($13.50=not great but fed me for 2 meals), had to donate $10 for a B-day party at work (necessary as it is something that is expected of all of us for B-days). Also ordered some beige sports bras and a book for Africa ($24 incl shipping-ehhhh).

Had fun at a friend’s place Friday night (thanks Gill!!) without having to spend any $. The rest of the weekend was spent relaxing, watching Lifetime movies & football and doing my 20 min workout–I tend to be a total hermit anyway so staying in on my days off while not the healthiest for my depression, doesn’t bother me at all. 

I have been doing a little research in my spare time–thinking about potential moves for Ross and I late winter/early Spring. We are mostly focused on either MN or South Florida, I am most worried about getting a job as good as the one I have now (great pay, benefits, co-workers & patients). As much as I love my job, it is not enough of a reason to stay here–we are ready for change!! Today I want to focus on the pros and cons…

First up: MN

Pros: family, family, family, good health care system, decent summers, clean air, lower cost of living, less stress, nice people, can see Vikings games on Sundays, could go up north or camping, possible Sasquatch sightings in N MN, liberal state with gay marriage & open minded peace loving people

Cons: state income tax rate, many part-time OT job postings-less full-time possibilities, WINTERS, general geographical location limits weekend road trips, no beaches (lakes don’t count), lacking culture/diversity, less walkability due to weather & sprawl, have to drive a lot

Okay: FL

Pros: beaches, winters, ease of getting to Caribbean, palm trees, a complete change & fresh start, nice places to live at reasonable cost, state income tax, grandparents are there part of the year, can take cruises easily

Cons: summers, bugs/snakes etc, traffic (maybe), republicans, hurricanes, distant from family, part-time jobs more common than full-time as well.

 

So, tough decision. I will keep you guys updated!!!

Goal for the week: prepare for paying rent & bills, keep oil pulling, keep up with workout, post something interesting here.

2 thoughts on “Weekend Update!!

  1. Let me know how the oil pulling goes. It sounds interesting but possibly hard to commit to if it’s 20 minutes. My only comment on the possible move is that MN is always rated high for culture 🙂 I also understand about the winters but they do end. You need to do what makes you happy. That is the Most important thing. If you chose FL now you may still end up wanting to move back to MN.:) You are such a good writer!

Leave a comment